Where did the words go?

One of the reasons that I started a blog was to create a place to release the torrent of words that kept pouring out at odd times. I would find myself standing under the shower, or at the sink, or driving to the supermarket, and realise that I was creating whole essays on social theory, pop culture, Christian apologetics, faith thoughts…

Because they had nowhere to go they did just that – went nowhere. Once they were removed from my head, just by thinking and planning, they seemed to disappear.

I wanted somewhere to dump them, hence (*looks around*)…well…’here’. Now that I have ‘here’, though, the words seem to be gone. Instead of an easy flow from my brain to the page it feels like a chore, like a short-circuit, like a puddle in the sun.

2 Comments

  1. Rodney Olsen said,

    August 4, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Could it be that the torrent of words were imperfect thoughts that you enjoyed playing with on your journey to truth and now you’re trying to perfect the words before putting them ‘out there’?

    Maybe you’re over-analyzing and trying to get everything ‘right’ before blogging it.

    I love reading posts where the writer is throwing out imperfect thoughts so that the writer and reader can journey together in finding an answer.

    This may not be the answer in your case but I do hope that you’re able to get the words flowing again.

  2. notperfection said,

    August 4, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    You’re probably very right… It’s always been a problem for me, trying to get things ‘perfect’ before feeling comfortable with them. I’m getting better, but I still over-think and under-do.


Leave a Reply

