The Joy of Silence

I’ve always been kind of a ‘wordy’ person, trying to understand things and how I felt about them through language. Sometimes just finding words can crystallise and clarify an emotion or thought. Sometimes, though, words can be clumsy and inadequate and awkward, and get in the way, rather than be helpful. Sometimes silence is the right and appropriate thing, allowing the situation to be fully experienced in and of itself.

Some years ago, when HL and I were getting ready to leave the US and come to Australia, there were things about my life that felt very overwhelming and difficult and unmanageable. I ran out of words. I would often hear this song on the radio when I was driving on I5, and it made me weep, and I felt the grace of God, right there in my little red Ford Probe.

2 Comments

  1. econmommy said,

    July 13, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Too often, it’s not until we run out of words that we can really hear His…

  2. notperfection said,

    July 13, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Yep, sometimes he’s prepared to shout to get our attention, but often he really is that ‘still, small voice’. I need to shut up more often. I’m getting better at not having to say something about everything but it’s not an easy thing. Also, shutting up makes it easier to hear other people’s words too.


Leave a Reply

