‘paste stuff in books’

Michael Stipe said in an interview with Andrew Denton that he…well…here’s the quote:
“Things like this (a conversation written on a café napkin) that I will look at 10 years from now and I will go, “Good God, we had fish and chips in Melbourne.” I paste stuff in books. I bought the paste, but it’s in my bag. I don’t really do it, I just talk about it.” 

I’ve always collected stuff: ticket stubs; birthday cards; an American dollar bill… I don’t paste anything anywhere, just stick it in a box really, but I like the ‘paste stuff in books’ image. If we don’t deliberately, consciously ‘paste’ – even metaphorically – then, not only is the ‘stuff’ lost, but so also the meaning attached to it. Junk becomes significant from the very act of saving.

This is me, intentionally ‘pasting’.

 

1 Comment

  1. Novel said,

    November 12, 2011 at 7:36 am

    I’m an intentional paster too! Love the blog. . . .made me giggle. . .thanks and have a great day!


Leave a Reply

